Gawad Urian, in case you didn’t know is an annual film awards in the Philippines held since 1977.The Gawad Urian is arguably the most prestigious film award-giving body in the Philippines if the number of scandals and dubious choices are taken in account. Showcasing only the best films in the country!

Since indie films have sprung up and became dominant, they had been in the cycle of Gawad Urian. And since then, mainstream films finds it hard to bag away the best picture. The last mainstream film to bag the best picture was Dekada 70 by Star Cinema.

With over a hundred nominees, movies, actors, directors and production staffs will be vying for 14 titles.The 2011 Gawad Urian Awards was hosted by Cesar Montano, Ai-Ai delas Alas and Butch Francisco.Performances of Christian Bautista, Sitti, Jovit Baldivino, Angeline Quinto and Ms. Lea Salonga were also present in the awards night. . .

Here’s the full list of winners in the 34th Gawad Urian Awards which happened last night, May 17, at the Marriott Hotel in Resorts World Manila.

Best Picture:
“Ang Damgo ni Eleuteria”

Best Director:
Remton Siega Zuasola (“Ang Damgo ni Eleuteria”)
Best Actress:
Fe GingGing Hyde (“Sheika”)
Best Actor:
Sid Lucero (“Muli”)
Best Supporting Actress:
Rosanna Roces (“Presa”)
Best Supporting Actor:
Joem Bascon (“Noy”)
Best Screenplay:
Arnel Mardoquio (“Sheika”)
Best Cinematography:
Christian Linaban (“Ang Damgo ni Eleuteria”)
Best Production Design:
Rodell Cruz (“Amigo”)
Best Editing:
Willie Apa, Jr. and Arthur Ian Garcia (“Sheika”)
Best Music:
Jerrold Tarog (“Ang Damgo ni Eleuteria”)
Best Sound:
Dempster Samarista (“Limbunan”)
Best Short Film:
“Wag Kang Titingin” by Pam Miras
Best Documentary Film:
“Kano: An American and His Harem” by Monster Jimenez
Gawad Urian also presented the 10 Best Films of the Decade:

  • “Tuhog” (2000)
  • “Batang Westside” (2001)
  • “Babae Sa Breakwater” (2003)
  • “Magnifico” (2003)
  • “Ebolusyon ng Isang Pamilyang Pilipino” (2004)
  • “Ang Pagdadalaga Ni Maximo Oliveros” (2005)
  • “Kubrador” (2006)
  • “Serbis” (2008)
  • “Kinatay” (2009)
  • “Lola” (2009)

Coco Martin was given the name Aktor ng Dekada while Gina Pareño and Cherry Pie Picache were tied for Gawad Urian Aktres ng Dekada.Natatanging Gawad was given to scriptwriter Jose F. Lacaba.

Overall, the Cebuano indie film “Ang Damgo ni Eleuteria” won the highest honor in the awards including awards in 3 other categories.