Despite of being weathered for almost all of its previous versions, Cinemalaya remained running for the eighth time. Cinemalaya is the official independent film festival in the Philippines.

This year around, we get to see all-in-all twenty-five films: ten new breed full-length features; ten shorts; and five director’s showcases. After running ten days in very limited cinemas, Sunday, July 29th, the winners were finally unveiled.

Few of the winners of the 8th Cinemalaya.

Battling for whatever award they prospectively will get are full-length feature films: ‘Aparisyon’ by Vincent Sandoval, ‘Ang Katiwala’ by Aloy Adlawan, ‘Ang Nawawala’ by Marietta “Marie” Jamora, ‘Mga Dayo’ by Julius Sotomayor Cena, ‘Diablo’ by Mes de Guzman, ‘Intoy Syokoy ng Kalye Marino’ by Lemuel Lorca, ‘Oros’ by Paul Sta. Ana, ‘REquieme!’ by Loy Arcenas, ‘Santa Niña’ by Emmanuel Quindo Palo, and ‘The Animals’ by Gino  Santos.

For short films, ‘Ang Paghihintay sa Bulong’ by Sigrid Andrea Bernardo, ‘As He Sleeps’ by Sheron Dayoc, ‘Balintuna’ by Emmanuel Escalona Jr., ‘Bohe Sons of the Waves’ by Nadjoua Bansil, ‘Manenaya’ by Richard Legaspi, ‘Pasahero’ by Mario Celada, ‘Ruweda’ by Hannah Espia, ‘Sarong Aldaw’ by Marianito Dio Jr., ‘Ulian (Senility)’ by Chuck Gutierrez, and ‘Victor’ by Jarell Serencio.

Five films in the Director’s Showcase are ‘Bwakaw’ by Jun Robles Lana, ‘Kalayaan (Wildlife)’ by Adolfo Alix Jr., ‘Mga Mumunting Lihim (Those Little Secrets)’ by Jose Javier Reyes, ‘Posas (Shackled)’ by Lawrence Fajardo, and ‘Kamera Obskura’ by Raymond Red.

In the awards night, there were confusions in the announcing of the winner of ‘Best Supporting Actress’ award, falsely hailing the four actresses of ‘Mga Mumunting Lihim’ (Judy Ann Santos, Iza Calzado, Agot Asidro and Janice De Belen) moments thereafter, clarified by screenwriter Ricky Lee, the four actresses in fact won a different award: ‘Best Ensemble’.

I have to say that the awards were given to those who deserve them respectively. Of course there were some awards which I thought should have went to another movie, but then it seems that this type of thing is a staple to most awards event. Yeah?

Anyway, we want to know if your favorites made it as one of the winners. Check below.

Director’s Showcase:

Audience Choice – Bwakaw
Best Screenplay – Mga Mumunting Lihim
Best Sound – Kalayaan
Best Original Musical Score – Kamera Obskura
Best Editing – Mga Mumunting Lihim
Best Production Design – Kalayaan
Best Cinematography – Kalayaan
Best Supporting Actor – Art Acuña (Posas)
Best Ensemble – Judy Ann Santos, Agot Isidro, Iza Calzado, Janice de Belen (Mga Mumunting Lihim)
Best Actor – Eddie Garcia (Bwakaw)
Special Jury Prize – Kamera Obskura
NETPAC Awardee – Bwakaw
Best Director – Raymond Red (Kamera Obskura)
Best Film – Posas

New Breed:

Audience Choice – Ang Nawawala
Best Screenplay – Requieme
Best Sound – Aparisyon
Best Original Musical Score – Ang Nawawala
Best Editing – The Animals
Best Production Design – Intoy Syokoy ng Kalye Marino
Best Cinematography – Diablo
Best Supporting Actor – Joross Gamboa (Intoy Syokoy ng Kalye Marino)
Best Supporting Actress – Anita Linda (Sta. Nina)
Best Actor – Kristoffer King (Oros)
Best Actress – Ama Quiambao (Diablo)
Special Jury Prize – Requieme
NETPAC Awardee – Diablo
Best Director – Mes De Guzman (Diablo)
Best Film – Diablo

Short Features:

Audience Choice – Ruweda
Best Screenplay – Ang Paghihintay sa Bulong
Special Jury Prize – Manenaya
Best Director – Sheron Dayoc (As He Sleeps)
Best Short Film – Victor

This has been a contribution by Armando Dela Cruz, owner of FilmPolice. Follow him and his blog on Twitter!